top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Wall Ball


It is kind of crazy how much of my childhood I spent at the ball field. From the age of about 4 (from what I remember) I always went to baseball games with my dad and grandpa whether it be for my brother, my cousin, or just because my grandpa and dad enjoyed watching them. I can guarantee I spent more time running up to the concession stand and playing wall ball then I did actually watching the game. I went to Supply Elementary school which most people I attended middle school went to Union but both Shallotte park and West Brunswick's baseball fields is where we had a common connection. West's fields is where I really connected with one of my best friends, Greer. Her brother was a member of the team and my dad just always went to games. She became my best friend then and she is still one now.

While at one of my friends games at North Brunswick there were kids playing wall ball. I was with Greer and my other best friend Izzy who I also spent a lot of time at the ball field with. We all started watching the kids play wall ball. During spring break and the Beach Diamond Invitational, we both attended the games as well as some of our other friends. With the new renovations to the West's facility the wall we always played wall ball on was removed. I first I didn't seem to notice until I saw my little sisters and a bunch of other kids running around and Greer looks at me and says "I miss wall ball." I was confused at first until I looked over and saw the building was gone. It was crazy to see it was gone. I can say little games like wall ball and tag at the ball fields played a key role in my childhood and seeing one of the main places this occurred changed makes miss me being that young again.

bottom of page