top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Loss


As I was sitting in class Tuesday morning, I received a text from my mom saying that my grandpa was being took of the ventilator and asked if I wanted to come to the hospital. I went not really knowing what the situation would be like or what the outcome would be. When I got there I expected everything to be very sad and not much communication among everyone. Instead I heard laughter and joyous conversation. It was hard to really understand what was happening because I have experienced someone passing away before but it has always a sudden loss not one we really knew was coming.

My great uncle and my mom were talking about Sisterville, West Virginia like I talked about in my last post. They were talking about my great grandparents and what life was like there. Then they talked about other family members who had passed and everything they had done with these people as they were growing up. I realize now that the joyous laughter and conversation about the past is what everyone needed. I saw in my mom's eyes this sense of loss but also of happiness. She lost her dad later that night and I lost my grandfather. Nothing made either of us want to go back to our childhoods more in that moment of time. My mom wanting to see her dad healthy again and doing everything she did with him as she grew up. I just wanted to be a little girl again sitting in my grandpa's lap during church. Loss can be hard sometimes but sometimes thinking about the past can really help with the situation.

bottom of page